Once Upon a Curfew by Srishti Chaudhary

A tale of liberation and love at the time of Curfew

Once upon a Curfew, set in 1974, at the time of the Emergency, explores the journey of Indu as she sets out to transform the lives of fellow women by turning her late grandmother’s flat into a library for women. In the process she meets Rana, a young lawyer who helps her set up the library, but she is engaged to Rajat. When the Emergency is declared, Indu’s life turns upside down. As the Emergency pervades their lives, Indu must decide not only who but also what kind of life she will choose.

Once Upon a Curfew is a toe-curling romance with lots of nostalgia and glimpses of Delhi in the 1970s. A women-centric romance, it is perfect for readers of The House that BJ Built.

About the Author

Srishti Chaudhary has had a series of short stories published by Juggernaut Books and the Glasgow Review of Books. Her articles have been published by BBC, Vice, Nat Geo India and the Hindu Businessline, amongst others.

Leave a Reply